positiviTUESDAY

Aloha friends! I’m up bright and early (read: I didn’t go to bed) and I’m feeling very happy.

Today is Tuesday, January 6th 2015. Some observations:

  1.  We’ve made it this far!
  2. It’s the year from Back To The Future!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Before I get into anything and possibly make you lose interest, please listen to THIS beautiful playlist! It’s today’s soundtrack. That’s all.

I went up to the rooftop of my house today, at 5AM to take some pictures of the sky. While I was up there, I had a little exchange with the universe. I let go of so much general crappiness I was carrying and left it. I looked at the sky and danced alone on a roof and was astounded at how much of the world there is, and how easy it is to completely detach from it.

I also got a little sentimental when I realised just how beautiful a Johannesburg sunrise is, because all my life I’ve just wanted to get away from it.

And you know what I’ve realised? That’s okay. You wanna chase the sun across the earth until your 85? Do it. Wanna become a stay at home dad and upholster couches in your spare time? Do it. Have no idea what you want to do or where you’re going? It’s alright. Just don’t stop.

In South Africa, the high school class of 2014 will get their results today. People will cry. People will be overjoyed. People will feel freedom like never before. In a year’s time, I will be those people. I will panic like they are, and I will pray like they are praying. And you know what?

That’s okay.

In the song, Light It Up by Eliza and the Bear, some lyrics kinda grab me by the everything and put things into perspective:

“I lost myself in the cold, but I’m still here. I found myself growing old, but I’m still here.”

We’re all still here . And damnit, we’ll be okay.

Have a beautiful day, lovely people!

Love and light,
shalom x